

LGA President and Vice-President Nominations

Purpose of Report

For information.

Summary

This paper outlines the Members of the House of Commons and the House of Lords the LGA Political Group Offices, working with the Public Affairs and Stakeholder Engagement team, will be inviting to be our honorary Vice-Presidents for 2023-24. As per our Articles of Association, each Political Group Office has the flexibility to update their appointments during the year as required..

LGA Plan Theme: Strengthening our Voice

Recommendations

The General Assembly is asked to

- 1. Note the result of the election of LGA President; and
- 2. note the appointments of Vice-Presidents by the four Political Groups.

Contact details

Contact officer: Iredia Oboh

Position: Public Affairs and Communications Manager

Phone no: 0207 664 3127

Email: iredia.oboh@local.gov.uk



LGA President and Vice-President Nominations

Background

- 1. Each year the LGA General Assembly elects the LGA President and, as set out in the LGA Articles of Association, the LGA President may serve in the role for up to eight years. For this year, it is recommended that Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson be elected LGA President.
- 2. Every year the LGA also appoints Vice-Presidents to act as advocates on local government issues. Vice-Presidents are appointed throughout the year by the four LGA Political Groups and those appointments are reported annually to the LGA General Assembly.
- 3. This paper summarises the list of Vice-President appointments from each Political Group Office. Each office has the flexibility to update their appointments during the year as required.

Offer to Vice-Presidents

- 4. We work with our Vice-Presidents to promote the LGA by highlighting local government priorities in debates, working to table amendments to legislation, tabling parliamentary questions and motions, and by hosting events in Parliament. Their support is vital for protecting and enhancing the reputation of councils and for allowing us to pursue and achieve our objectives. The Vice-Presidents are selected because of their background in local government and their commitment to supporting LGA priorities.
- 5. In order to assist our Vice-Presidents we offer briefings, the use of LGA facilities, subscription to LGA bulletins and publications, free attendance to our conferences, and speaking opportunities at LGA events.
- 6. Engagement with the Vice-Presidents focuses around organisational priorities, including those pieces of primary legislation agreed to be a priority for councils by the Executive Advisory Board at the start of each parliamentary session.
- 7. The Vice-Presidents receive the following benefits from the LGA:
 - Tailored briefings to support LGA policy positions and corporate campaigns.
 - Support in drafting questions, amendments to legislation and parliamentary motions.
 - The use of LGA facilities, including meeting rooms.
 - Free attendance for Vice-Presidents and their staff at LGA conferences and events.



- Opportunities to speak at LGA conferences and events.
- Opportunities to write for LGA publications.
- Complimentary subscription to First magazine.
- A weekly LGA Parliamentary e-bulletin (when Parliament is sitting).
- Opportunity to subscribe to the daily LGA news headlines e-bulletin.
- Invitations to the LGA's parliamentary events.
- Access to LG Inform.

Nominations for 2023/24

Conservative

Natalie Elphicke MP (Dover)

David Simmonds MP (Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner)

Andrew Lewer MP (Northampton South)

Tim Loughton MP (East Worthing and Shoreham)

Mark Pawsey MP (Rugby and Bulkington)

Bob Blackman MP (Harrow East)

Andrew Selous MP (South West Bedfordshire)

Sir Charles Walker MP (Broxbourne)

Sir Bob Neill MP (Bromley and Chislehurst)

Ben Everitt MP (Milton Keynes North)

Anna Firth MP (Southend West)

Lord Farmer

Lord Greenhalgh

Lord Whitby

Lord True

Baroness Eaton

Labour

Paulette Hamilton MP (Birmingham Erdington) Preet Kaur Gill MP (Birmingham Edgbaston)



General Assembly 4 July 2023

Helen Hayes MP (Dulwich and West Norwood) Clive Betts MP (Sheffield South East) Catherine West MP (Hornsey and Wood Green) Catherine McKinnell MP (Newcastle upon Tyne North) Wes Streeting MP (Ilford North) Steve Reed MP (Croydon North) Mike Amesbury MP (Weaver Vale) Jim McMahon MP (Oldham West and Royton) Dame Diana Johnson MP (Kingston upon Hull North) Abena Oppong-Asare MP (Erith and Thamesmead) Florence Eshalomi MP (Vauxhall) Dan Jarvis MP (Barnsley Central) Feryal Clark MP (Enfield North) Rachel Hopkins MP (Luton South) Andrew Western MP (Stretford and Urmston) Samantha Dixon MP (City of Chester) Stephen Morgan MP (Portsmouth South) Luke Pollard MP (Plymouth, Sutton and Devonport) Lyn Brown MP (West Ham) Simon Lightwood MP (Wakefield) Carolyn Harris MP (Swansea East) Jessica Morden MP (Newport East) Andrew Gwynne MP (Denton and Reddish) Lord Kennedy of Southwark **Baroness Blake of Leeds Baroness Smith of Basildon**

Lord Filkin



General Assembly 4 July 2023

Baroness Wilcox of Newport Baroness Taylor of Stevenage

Liberal Democrats

Sir Ed Davey MP (Kingston and Surbiton) Daisy Cooper MP (St Albans) Tim Farron MP (Westmorland and Lonsdale) Wera Hobhouse MP (Bath) Layla Moran MP (Oxford West and Abingdon) Helen Morgan MP (North Shropshire) **Baroness Brinton** Lord Shipley Lord Scriven Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville **Baroness Janke Baroness Scott of Needham Market Baroness Pinnock Baroness Thornhill** Lord Storey Lord Tope

Independents

Liz Saville Roberts MP (Plaid Cymru, Dwyfor Meirionnydd) Ben Lake MP (Plaid Cymru, Ceredigion) Lord Kerslake (Crossbench) Baroness Casey of Blackstock (Crossbench) Lord Bird (Crossbench)



Lord Wigley (Plaid Cymru) Lord Bichard (Crossbench) Lord Best (Crossbench) Lord Adebowale (Crossbench) Bishop of St Albans (Lords Spiritual) Baroness Jones of Mouslecoomb (Green Party) Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle (Green Party) Baroness Young of Hornsey (Crossbench)

Financial Implications

8. There are no financial implications to this paper.

Next steps

9. The President and Vice-President nominations will be put forward to the General Assembly on 4 July 2023.